Lebron James Describes His girlfriend As “Sidekick”, She Calls Him Her “Soulmate”…What’s Wrong With this Picture?

This morning I received an email from Harper’s Bazaar. The publicist was touting an upcoming story on LeBron James’ longtime girlfriend, Savannah Brinson. She is also the mother of his two young sons. In the article she talks about the move to Miami and her love for the NBA superstar. Brinson said “Personally, Miami was not my favorite place. Vacationing there is great: You go for three days and get some sun, and it’s time to go home,” she explains. “It will definitely be an adjustment, but we’ll make it. We’re not complaining. Whatever LeBron felt was comfortable, I’m with him. I just love him so much. We’re soul mates.”  As I read on James describes his take on the relationship. He said “A person like myself always needs a great sidekick and a person you can rely on no matter the circumstances. And she’s that,” he says. “She’s got my back, and I love her for that.”  So he views Brinson as his sidekick. When I think sidekick I think Batman and Robin, The Lone Ranger and Tonto, but sidekick generally is not a term one would use to describe a soulmate. When questioned about the possibility of marriage Brinson said “I’ve definitely not put a fire under his ass. I would never rush him to do something like that. We’re really comfortable with the way things are now. And it’s not up to me. When it happens, it happens. We talk about it. If we do it, I want it to be forever.” It is up to Brinson and James to determine if marriage is right for them, but why would you have to “put a fire under someone’s ass” to get them to marry you? How many women are sidekicks without knowing it? At least Brinson knows where she stands. To read the whole story: http://www.harpersbazaar.com/lebron.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • cheneetot08  On August 9, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Lebron’s lucky to have a very supportive wife. I’m sure hearing those comments and negative feedbacks about James decision isn’t easy for her as well.

  • musesofamom  On August 9, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    She is not his WIFE. She is the mother of his two sons.

  • LadyLee  On August 10, 2010 at 1:40 am

    All I know, she has two sons. Let him put her to the side if he wants to. That chick will get at least half a million a month in support. That’s how that goes. Sidekick or not.

    I know I wrote some fiction one time from a male’s point of view and a male friend who read it said it sounded too feminine. “Men compare things to sports and tools and stuff like that,” he said. And I immediately thought about that when I read what Lebron said above. I as a woman would be offended by that. But thinking about it from a man’s point of view, that is probably his deepest form of sentiment. Just a thought.

  • elogam  On August 10, 2010 at 2:08 am

    We also need to take into consideration how this young man was raised. He was always “King James” growing up. He was catered to and nurtured to be a basketball superstar. Getting his sexual needs fulfilled was probably not a problem for him. Because of this he never had to worry about building the type of healthy relationship that a husband and wife share. I’m sure he’s made it clear that if she wants a taste of “the life”, she better not try to rein in “The King”. I recently saw “Just Wright” when it was in theatres. Just like the male lead character finds out who is truly on his side when the crowds disappear, I suspect “King James” will have a similar awakening if he is no longer “King” but “Joker”.