Tyler Perry tells Spike Lee to “Go Straight to Hell”

Spike Lee is no fan of Tyler Perry. Lee has criticized Perry’s work and called it “coonery and buffoonery’. In 2009 Lee said that Perry’s films “harken back to Amos and Andy.” At a press conference to promote the release of Madea’s Big Happy Family, Perry said “I’m sick of hearing about damn Spike Lee.” He went on to say “Spike can go straight to hell! You can print that.” Perry has defended his work before but never with this level of venom. Perry is in a very unique situation in that he can write, direct and produce his own movies. He has his own studio and a lucrative distribution deal with Lionsgate. Perry has tapped into a lucrative audience. People love his work. While I am not a fan I do think it is disturbing that Perry and Lee are continuing to air their disagreements in such a public way. Perry is enjoying financial success that has alluded Lee. Lee has a right to his opinion, and he has the right to speak ,but he has made his feelings known at this point Lee can keep his money, and not go to Perry films, and if Meet the Browns is on his television he has the right to change the channel. That’s what I do. I have written about Perry films far too many times and the reality is Perry is going to keep doing what he is doing as he laughs all the way to the bank, and if Lee continues to criticize Perry he runs the risk of being classified as a crab in a barrel and we all know what crabs do to other crabs in the barrel.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • the sharpster  On April 20, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    I don’t watch any of their movies but have written a screenplay which I am debating whether or not to send to Perry. Spike Lee has always left a bad taste in my mouth as he thrives on racism. From what I can tell, Tyler Parry is a self-made man who makes funny flicks about a character he created. I suppose I enjoy the work of folks who make people laugh more than those who create division.

    I love a capitalist. Tyler Paerry is realizing the American Dream and I think that inspires other boys and girls to write and create. In that alone, he contributes to society.

  • Ann  On April 20, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    Its about time Tyler Perry push back against some of that noise….Go for him!

  • thebalesy  On April 21, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Interestingly enough… people slam Amos and Andy… and I understand that there were issues… but I loved Amos and Andy… and I respected those men… and the actors who played them.

    There’s a way of looking at your own culture and poking some fun… and still be respectful of one’s self.

    I’m Italian… some hate the Mafia stereotypes… I tell them to get over it. It’s funny.

    Now… Tyler Perry… I don’t watch his stuff… but the commercials are funny… and he is successful. And, it can’t be all white people going to his movies. So, I’m thinking that African-Americans aren’t the ‘over-sensitive’ people the media wants to make them out to be… I can’t stand the racism of the media.

    And as for Spike Lee… Spike Lee who? He’s such a loser. His only claim to fame is his big mouth. Seriously… he is not black… he is pea green with envy.

    Thoughts? If I’m wrong… tell me, please.

    • sherri  On April 21, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      You are wrong.

      • thebalesy  On April 22, 2011 at 4:24 pm

        Teach me how/why I’m wrong, Miss Sherri. I don’t mean that snarky or mean. I want to understand.

    • Carmen  On April 21, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      There were probably people who were offended by Spike Lee’s movies. Is he upset because he had his run in the 90’s and it may be Tyler Perry’s time? They are airing their disagreement in public probably because Tyler is tired of “hearing” all the negative things Spike says about him. So I don’t blame him for addressing Spike’s beef with HIS choice of movies HE chooses to write and direct; always hearing negativity towards you can become old quickly. I don’t have a problem at all with Tyler doing the types of movies he does. He’s become successful, employs many black actors, has a successful production company and has overcome a lot of odds. He’s had a lot of bad things happen in his life, for once, let’s applaud him for doing what he likes and making a lot of people laugh. I don’t think it’s exploitation or buffoonery, it’s just comedy..

    • Elrancho  On April 22, 2011 at 11:27 am

      You’re wrong.