Donald Trump’s appeal to black folks, “what do you have to lose”, now that’s a winning strategy


Nobody respects the black vote. The Democrats take us for granted and the Republicans ignore us. Well, The Donald polling 1-2% in the black community has articulated a new strategy, and that is the “what the hell do you have to lose: strategy. Not really offering anything new. Not even coming into the community to articulate it. Just standing in front of mostly white crowds he just screams his new words. Is this truly the way he should be talking to black folks? 2016 is a different kind of election. Hillary Clinton is no Barack Obama and black people are not going to come out in those Obama numbers for her. So my advice is they both need to learn not all blacks live in poverty. We are like all Americans…different, and they need to address us that way.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Bill  On August 21, 2016 at 8:44 pm

    You say that Trump is not offering anything new? That is exactly the point that he is making about the Democrat’s appeal, the same old thing. You must have meant to say that he is not offering anything free. That’s what Democrats seem to believe is most appealing to black voters. But to your point, not all blacks live in poverty which is why many, such as I, find their pandering so insulting.

  • Bill  On August 24, 2016 at 1:03 am

    What does that protest have to do with any loss incurred by blacks for supporting Trump. I have a few decades of first hand experience with the exploitation of black voters by the Democrat party. Clearly you can only speculate on this issue. You might want to sit this one out.

    • Spanish Inquisitor  On August 26, 2016 at 3:17 pm

      Bill, I’m a life long progressive who has voted pretty much Dem since I reached voting age. I like to think I’m not racist, but I don’t kid myself that being born a privileged white guy doesn’t mean there is not inherent prejudice in me. I’m also human, and we are all born to fear the “other”, people who are not like us. I hope I’m civilized and intelligent enough that I can suppress those human tendencies, and I believe I’ve spent my life doing so successfully. But I’m not perfect. And I won’t minimize your experience on the subject. I know it’s more valid than mine.

      If you think the only people allowed to comment and have an opinion on this is people with dark skin, I’ll be happy to sit back, grab a bag of popcorn, and watch what Trump and the people he attracts to his campaign do for you. People like the skinheads, white nationalists, KKK sympathizers, Confederate flag wavers, and the rest of that ilk who love Trump. I’m sure you’ll be richly rewarded once he’s in power. Because, while it’s not really clear what Trump will be like as President, it is VERY CLEAR what those people expect him to be.

      I wish you well with the Republicans. I’m sure they have your best interests at heart.

