Donald Trump misses his John McCain moment

“Why aren’t we putting our retirees, our military retirees, on that border or in TSA?” the woman asked. “Get rid of all these hibijabis they wear at TSA. I’ve seen them myself,” she said, gesturing toward her face. (The woman seemed to be referring to the hijab, the headscarf worn by many Muslim women.) Trump responded, “I understand.”This quote has been altered to include the correct name for the Muslim woman’s headdress. The woman actually called it the “heebeejeebees”. Trump made no attempt to correct her his response was I understand. In 2008 a woman at a townhall called the future president a Muslim. McCain corrected her and actually took the microphone from her but Trump simply utters I understand and that says it all.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Elogam  On July 6, 2016 at 6:50 am

    McCain won the day, but lost the election. I think Trump learned from that. I agree he should have corrected the woman; she needed to know the word is “Hijab”….

