Are you sick of “Becky with the good hair”?

What the heck is good hair?* Is it the kind of hair that is naturally straight? Is it the kind of hair that has a natural curl? Good hair is a phrase that probably pre-dates most of my readers, but it is a phrase that continues to echo in the black community. If something is good it actually implies the opposite of that state is bad. So do we conclude hair with a natural kink is bad? One would think this would be a conversation we were no longer having, but sadly that is not the case. Over the years chemicals and electric devises have enabled us to have any kind of hair we want. We can have naturals, kinky and even nappy if that is your preference. So can we stop using this antiquated term “good hair”, and simply accept the beauty of diversity.

*Understood the Beyonce reference just opening it up to a wider discussion.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • atlmom5  On April 27, 2016 at 9:39 am

    Yes, I’m tired of hearing it. I thought we, as a people tired of it too…I mean with so many black women wearing their natural hair and all. I’ve been wearing my natural hair for almost 17 years now and, I can remember black women telling me how nice and pretty my hair looked….I would thank them and when they would tell me ….they wished they had hair like mine, I would let them know that they could wear their natural hair too and what makes my hair okay to wear, but not their own. I don’t have wavy hair at all…In fact, I have three textures of hair growing out of my scalp. I went natural because I wanted to get to know my hair texture and embrace myself completely(not to say, that other women don’t love or embrace themselves because they aren’t natural, this was my journey and something I needed to do) and so that’s what I did. I didn’t worry about people asking me when I plan on changing my hair to fit in, because no one will hire you with your hair like that or you can’t wear those styles to formal events.

    Good hair to me is healthy hair, so in turn, good hair is kinky, wavy, straight or curly. Not everyone with straight hair has good hair, people. I’ve seen some really unhealthy straight hair too!

