When did the GOP debates turn into the Fight Club?

I used to laugh when I saw video of politicians in other countries fighting. I am talking a, but about physical fighting. I knew that kind of behavior would never happen here, but now I am not so sure. After watching last Thursday’s GOP debate I am starting to think we are one step shy of a physical altercation. One has to wonder how long can grown men call each other names, talk about each other’s mothers, brothers and husband/wives  before someone takes a swing at the perpetrator. Are we one step shy of anarchy? When did campaigns turn into reality television? Did it happen with the advent of 24 hour news? We all know that the news channels like any other channel crave ratings and this political cycle is proving to be a ratings boon. The problem is we are talking about the future of the country. Do you remember when members of Congress used to refer to each other as the Distinguished Gentlemen? What happened? When did disrespect become the language of the political class? Over the past 8 years we have seen this anger build to this boiling point. We have heard words hurled at our president that would have never been tolerated but the words were embraced by some and allowed by others. So here we are watching the gladiators go at it and wondering what will we gain from this. Share your thoughts.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • elogam  On March 1, 2016 at 5:49 am

    It pains me to see the party I deliberately and intentionally joined after much soul searching, has devolved into “The Real Politicians of North America”. I blame Trump for bringing his carnival atmosphere and I blame his followers for actually voting for him in polls and in primaries and showing that behaving badly actually works. I have expected Trump to implode for months. I’m starting to realize that this may not happen, and my country is going to pay the price for this mess. Someone PLEASE bring back the adults!

