Did you see the BET Awards or was it Celebration of Gospel?

Can a show attract an audience if it only features gospel music? The answer is yes, but obviously BET does not believe it. They started sprinkling in R & B audiences in a few years ago, but now they are featured artists. It just seems a little odd to pair people singing songs of praise with people singing songs that are designed to sex you up.  R& B has its lane and Gospel should have its lane. I am just waiting to see a secular show incorporate gospel stars into the mix like celebration of Gospel did last night, but we know that is not going to happen. Share your thoughts on last night’s show.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • WalknRun1  On February 1, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    My first thought to ponder was what made Cookie, I mean Taraji the choice for host? It was a very secular gospel show…Yazz, Tank, really?? My 16-year old walked out when Kirk Franklin, “Whipped, Nae-Naed, Hit the Folk, Hit the Kwan” and pumped it up. There were definitely some strange pairings. I think I’ll stick to my iTunes, CDs and YouTube for genuine gospel.

    • musesofamom  On February 1, 2016 at 5:50 pm

      Could not agree more. The show has evolved over the past 15 years and i for one do not like the evolution.

