A Very Unfunny thing happened at McDonald’s yesterday

Every now and then you need some McDonald’s. Yesterday I went to my local McDonald’s while eating my lunch with my daughter I observed the manager, a black woman having an ongoing conversation with one of the patrons. She would smile and greet everyone who came over to sit down and eat their food. She asked everyone did they need anything. She was pleasant and professional until a young black teenage boy came over and attempted to charge his phone. She asked him whether he planned on buying any food and when he said yes she said he had 20 minutes to eat it, and they did not tolerate loitering. It was striking to me that he had to justify his existence in the restaurant. During the school year they have limits of the number of students allowed in the restaurant, but there was barely anyone in the place but, she laid out his rules of engagement. He responded to her, and he left the premises. She found him suspicious on arrival, and he did not seem bothered probably because this is his life, and I only got a glimpse of it.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • elogam  On July 12, 2015 at 11:24 pm

    EM, McDonalds has made wifi free in just about all their restaurants. As a result lots of people would just “hang around” and take up space and suck up the internet connection. People were spreading out at tables and conducting business! The restaurants here have been remodeled so that there are no convenient outlets. The message is, use our wifi while you’re here, but don’t get TOO comfortable; this ain’t your home office! Restaurants close to schools also have to be careful that unsupervised kids do not loiter. They suck down all the soda, get loud, get rowdy, and then the manager has to intervene. Maybe she could have been more tactful, but the end result is the same. I work from my car, so I make it a point to be sure my laptop is fully charged before I dip in for a cheeseburger, a drink, and free wifi.

