Should We Celebrate the 4th of July?

From July 4, 2011…Still True

politics from the eyes of an ebony mom

This morning I read a blog written by a black man that cited all the reasons why black people have no reason to celebrate the fourth of July. I also read a blog post written by a white woman that stated why she felt she could not celebrate the holiday. She stated this was the third holiday that the country was run by “an alien regime”. Both of the posts made me sad for different reasons. I know that 235 years ago my ancestors were slaves so I can see the irony in the celebration, but I celebrate the fact that we are free now. I know that the black man’s history in this country is indeed complicated, but I also honor the struggles of people black and white who helped us secure our right to pursue happiness. No there is no assurance that we will all be happy, but…

View original post 144 more words

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
