Do black people forgive too quickly?

Last month we saw a group of frat brothers sing a racist song while on the way to a frat formal dinner. This was captured on videotape and the two ringleaders were expelled from school. One of the singers reached out to some local black leaders and apologized for his actions. They accepted his apology and actually appeared on stage at a press conference with him. Last night I watched the family of Walter Scott talk to the media. His mother said she has forgiven the policeman that took her son’s life. She forgives a man who fired 8 bullets at her son. It was videotape that showed how the policeman took the life of Walter Scott. So how can you forgive someone who kills a loved one? That’s a question I can’t answer, but what I will say is I would be hard pressed to do it this quickly.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • RS  On April 9, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    Mr. Scott’s family are beautiful. They are hurting but know inciting a riot will only cause more pain.

    I do not know their faith, but my opinion of them is they appear “Christ like”.

    May God bless and comfort them.

  • rs  On April 10, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    First, what does race have to do with forgiveness?

    The college student was a silly young man who did something incredibly stupid. He was caught and was rightfully ashamed of himself. He reached out to the black community who graciously accepted his apology. Was his apology sincere? Well, it appeared to be. However, only God knows his heart. Other than an apology and acceptance of that apology, I am not sure what else could have been done. I guess there could have been some violence against him. Would you have preferred that to the peaceful acceptance of his apology?

    Now, the Scott family have handled themselves with grace and dignity. May God bless and comfort them. They have stated it is not a race problem, it is a people problem. They do not want the circus that was in Ferguson which was perpetuated on a lie. They do not want Al Sharpton anywhere near their community. This is where they live and work and rioting hurts the community and accomplishes NOTHING.

    There have been some protesters screaming, “No Justice, No Peace”. Not sure why, since the cop has been arrested, will be found guilty of murder and may get the death penalty, which he DESERVES. Not sure what other justice there is.

    I read this blog and I am perplexed. You do not speak about the black on black crime which is claiming lives everyday.

    You do not speak that abortions claim the lives of 1800 black babies a day. In less than a week, abortion kills more black victims than the KKK has ever killed. What’s more disgusting is that the DEMOCRATS love the fact that babies are ripped apart limb from limb everyday.

    You say nothing of the fact that last month, 4 BLACK OFFICERS were killed. Do you even know their names?

    I can go on and on, but will stop here.

    • musesofamom  On April 13, 2015 at 5:23 pm

      I have been writing this blog for 8 years. I write about issues that are current and important to me. You don’t have to agree with me, but I post comments like yours that offer respectful dissent, but as the writer i choose the subjects. You speak of black on black crime and I have written about that. Actually one of my post was quoted in The Daily Caller, a conservative site. I wrote a series of posts regarding Dr. Gosnell, but I am not going to chronicle all the posts i have written they are archived on the site. The fact is I tackle a lot of subjects and hopefully you will continue reading the blog.

