Brian Williams takes himself off the air…is this enough to save his career.

“NBC Nightly News” anchor Brian Williams announced that he would temporarily take himself off the air, leaving NBC’s signature evening newscast in the hands of Lester Holt “for the next several days,” he wrote in a memo to staff Saturday afternoon that was later published to the network’s press relations site. Williams has been under scrutiny since Stars & Stripes reported that an anecdote Williams has frequently told, about being in a helicopter that was shot down in Iraq, was not accurate.

“In the midst of a career spent covering and consuming news, it has become painfully apparent to me that I am presently too much a part of the news, due to my actions,” Williams wrote. “As Managing Editor of NBC Nightly News, I have decided to take myself off of my daily broadcast for the next several days, and Lester Holt has kindly agreed to sit in for me to allow us to adequately deal with this issue. Upon my return, I will continue my career-long effort to be worthy of the trust of those who place their trust in us.”

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
