Ernie Banks, “Mr. Cub” was a big part of my childhood


Ernie Banks died yesterday. That name might not be familiar to Generation X, Y or even Z, but it is to people born before WGN was a cable station. WGN used to simply be Channel 9 the Home of the Cubs and in the 60’s and 70’s Mr. Cub was their Number One draw. I never liked baseball but my dad did and he was off on Mondays. This was back in the day of the family television. One television per family. During those summer Mondays our dad would say he was going to turn to the Cubs station to just catch the score, but he would end up watching the game and we would quietly leave the family room in search of other entertainment. Why did he like watching the Cubs? I never asked because as a child I really did not care, but now I wonder was Mr. Cub a part of his interest? I’ll never know for sure, but I would put money on it. RIP Mr. Cub

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
