Charlie Hebdo stretched the limits of free speech

What is free speech? Do you have a right to say, write or draw anything you like? Even if what you do is offensive? The answer is yes. Free Speech is a right worthy of protection. I saw some of the cartoons attributable to Charlie Hebdo and I found them offensive. Many were profane and very graphic. People have a right to verbalize their opposition but no one has a right to kill in the name of religion.

http://www.cnn.com/2015/01/08/europe/charlie-hebdo-paris-shooting/index.html

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • ephesians413  On January 8, 2015 at 3:50 pm

    Agreed. It’s disrespectful to mock other people’s religion. I saw some of those cartoons also and was shocked. At the same time, killing because of it is just plain wrong. It’s sad that we are in such a situation these days.

    Personally, I abhor the violence, but at the same time, I’m not going to shout or tweet that “I am Charlie” because I don’t agree with that either.

    What I would like to see is more Muslims standing up against such violence.

