Beverly Johnson has no reason to lie on Bill Cosby

For weeks women have shared their horrid Bill Cosby stories. It seemed hard to believe that Cosby could have done this for years and the women committed to a conspiracy of silence. Some of the women are now in their 60s and 70s and they seemed to be sitting on a bunch of shattered dreams, but their stories seemed to similar to dismiss, but we just could not wrap our minds areound the kindly “Dr. Cliff Huxtable” engaging in this dastardly behavior. Huxtable is a fictional character. He is not the accused. Cosby is. Cosby the actor. Cosby the educator. Cosby the uplifter. Cosby the star, but we are talking about a man not a carefully crafted image. We have got to drop the blinders that trap us in the star’s glory days. When I read Beverly Johnson’s account I had to say I am starting to be a believer. I can no longer say this is not the Cosby I knew, because the truth is none of know him. He sits silently and that might be a sound legal strategy but it is not what we need. Cosby has talked us and lectured us for decades and now when he needs to speake he is mute. I believe Beverly Johnson because she has no reason to speak and so many reasons not to.

http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/2014/12/bill-cosby-beverly-johnson-story

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • atlmom5  On December 17, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    I don’t know what to think anymore, I’m not saying Mr. Cosby is guilty or not guilty. I’m just thinking Beverly Johnson’s story sounds really strange, as I’ve felt about many of the accusers too. I’m not one of those people who feel like, why did the accusers wait so long to say anything. I understand how a woman can feel shame and even fault themselves over the situation. After someone has been sexually assault or even experienced sexual harassment, a person goes into shock and becomes extremely fearful. I’ve never been raped, but at the age of 19, I had my breast groped and fondled by a male co-worker in our upstairs cafeteria area. I was in the kitchen area warming up some food ( I worked the 3rd shift,and was the only one in that area warming up food at the time) he walked in and spoke to me while I was at the microwave and I spoke back. There was a little small talk and then the next thing I remember he was behind me groping my breast and he gave my neck a kiss. Here I am pushed up against the counter and microwave hearing my older co-worker telling me, “I like you and I want you.” As I was tussling with this man to stop, another co-worker happened to make a little noise before she turned the corner to enter the room where I was. He had let go of me and I took off with the little bit of food that I could and in fact I didn’t even eat it, I just couldn’t believe what had just happened to me, and I kept thinking maybe I did something to lead him on, maybe I shouldn’t have been so nice to him,maybe when we use to talk at work, I should’ve gave less eye contact when he spoke to me……I just had so many things running through my mind about what I might’ve done wrong, and for this I can understand women doubting themselves or not even speaking out about their rape or sexual harassment claims. But the one thing that sticks out to me about many of these women is, some of these women continue to see this man after they were drugged or sexually assaulted by him. These women were grown women, not children who have no choice other than running away to get away from their sexual predator if they’re not able to speak out about their rape, and in interviews Beverly Johnson refers to Bill Cosby as Mr. Cosby and I’m sorry if Bill Cosby did the thing she said, I wouldn’t be calling him Mr. Cosby at all. When my former co-worker did what he did to me, he kept coming down every aisle I was on trying to apologize…..every time I saw him I would leave, I didn’t want this man coming near me and I was still in shock and still questioning myself. Eventually he finally made it close enough to me to say he was sorry, I heard his sorry, and I was tired of leaving aisle by aisle to get away from this man, and I just finally told him……”GET AWAY FROM ME, YOU MAKE ME SICK.” He told me, how sorry he was once again and walked away and the following work night, I was still debating on telling our Supervisor or just keeping my mouth shut. Well, I never spoke out about what happened to me, but the co-worker had decided to put in a weeks notice. Everyone at the job was really surprised,but I wasn’t. I think he left because he thought I was going to tell, I seriously believe that I would’ve told if he hadn’t put in his notice. He didn’t even put in a two weeks notice, he just said I’ll be gone in a week and that’s the last I ever heard from him. I know I said a lot, but I just wanted to give you a little background from me and why it’s hard to believe someone would continue to hang around a person after you’ve been be violated.

