Full service, self service and no service

I heard a comedian joke about the advent of the self serve aisles in grocery stores. he said if we are going to do all the work we deserve a uniform. Today I visited my local grocery store and the joke became my reality. Gone are the days of a cashier and a bagger. The cashier now has to wear both hats, but that is a decision made by the store and it is truly not our issue to resolve. Occasionally in an effort to speed the process we all often bag our own groceries but that should always be our choice. While in the store I noticed the customer in front of me bagged his groceries as the chatty cashier rang them up. He gave the customer the receipt and said come again. When he started ringing up my groceries my daughter started bagging them. The cashier was not breaking a sweat as my duaghter continued bagging. After the last item was rung and I paid he bid us goodbye and proceeded to start on the next order, but there were still items that i had purchased that were still not bagged. He expected my daughter to finish bagging. I said “wait a minute you are not done with this order”, he looked at me as if I was asking him to do something outside of his job description. He then finished bagging up the order with a side order of attitude. When did we agree to do the work and pay for the privilege? As the comedian said “where’s my uniform?”

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • elogam  On November 10, 2014 at 2:29 am

    I think it’s time to look for another grocery store….

