Fire Shut Up in My Bones (A Memoir) by Charles M. Blow is a Must Read

Fire Shut up

I have been writing this blog for 7 years, and over the years I have received dozens of books from authors seeking reviews. This book is not one of them. This book I sought out. Over the years I have been a fan of Charles Blow. His columns in the New York Times reflect a quiet intensity that stirs the reader to want to take an action step. Sometimes memoirs are narcissistic endeavors. An exercise that allows the author to recite their struggle as the reader sits back as a passenger on the journey. Fire Shut Up in My Bones is not that kind of book. It engages the reader from the jump. Blow has the ability to pull the reader in with his rich use of language, and his characters have so many layers that the reader does not judge them, but yearns to simply understand them. He paints a literary picture with the masterstrokes of a talented Picasso. As I read the book I found myself writing down some of his powerful literary prose. Toward the end of the book he writes about a girl he loved and he wrote this “With her I relaxed, exhaled and forgot myself, and became myself”. This southern gentleman can turn a phrase in a way that compels the reader to turn the page. This book is a must read for this fall.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Spanish Inquisitor  On October 6, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    I listened to an interview of him on NPR the other day, about this book. He was sexually abused at an early age by an older cousin, and he had some interesting insights on whether that affected his sexulal identity…

