What’s Wrong with an old-fashioned whooping?

What is a switch? Ask any black person over the age of 35 and they will tell you. It is a branch devoid of leaves used for beating children. As a child I can remember visiting my grandmother and she would bring a switch into the kitchen and say the next person that got out of line would be whipped with that switch. It served as a bad behavior determent, but was it right? No, but was it child abuse? In the 60s and 70s children really had no rights and parents and grandparents were free to apply any form of discipline they saw fit, but those days are gone. Adrian Peterson has been indicted for child abuse and he claims he was doing to his child what was done to him. That might be true, but was it right then and is it right now? Share your thoughts.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com  On September 14, 2014 at 5:17 am

    In my opinion I do not think that child nor anyone human being should be beaten or scolded out of anger. In the past that was all they knew and they didn’t know any better really. Now I am not saying that children do not need correction when wrong but there is a better way to correct them.

    Just like Ephesians 6:4 says…fathers (parents) do not irritate or provoke your children to anger (do not exasperate them to resentment/ don’t be hard on your children) but rear them (tenderly) in the training and discipline and the counsel and admonition of the Lord.(raise them properly)

    So I think beatings for the black family comes from the terrible brutal history of slavery. That’s all they knew. So It is not right to beat or whoop anyone much less a child and especially nowadays. There are government agencies who will step in when a child is being beat.

    There are some wonderful ways to learn how to correct a child now. I loved that reality show “The Super Nanny” she gives lots of tips on how to deal with small difficult children. I think when children are difficult it’s not totally their fault it has a lot to do with family dynamics. So that’s what I think. Thanks so much for bringing this topic up. Betty at: http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

  • elogam  On September 14, 2014 at 5:21 am

    I haven’t kept up with the “news” about AP, and that’s been intentional. I think there’s such a thing as being TOO focused on someone, and I got things to do. If all he did was spank a wayward child, why are we even hearing about this? I think more than HALF the problems we have with society today would be less of an issue if parents weren’t afraid to apply wisdom to the seat of knowledge in an appropriate manner. I spanked both my children, and although they’re in their 20’s right now I’d apply a whoopin’ if they really, truly deserved it. My house, mine lineage, my rules.

