Was AJ McCarron’s mother’s Jameis Winston tweet racist?


Last night Jameis Winston led his Florida State football team to victory. AJ McCarron’s mother sent out a tweet that asked “is he speaking English?” She has since deleted the tweet. She has been accused of racism, but what do you think? Is Winston simply excited about the victory or does this current Heismann winner and future NFL player need some verbal coaching? Dee Dee McCarron made no bones about wanting Auburn to win last night, but did her 140 character observation cross a line? Share your thoughts.

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/ncaaf-dr-saturday/aj-mccarron-mother-asks-jameis-winston-speaking-english-055812413–ncaaf.html

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Docile Jim Brady – Columbus OH 43209  On January 7, 2014 at 3:25 pm

    The same could have been said of a white , black or multi-hue who spoke that way. .

    I perceive no racism , but would , if speaking , ask about grammar schooling .

    But I also saw no harm with the raised fist years ago upon earning Olympic medals.

  • deeplygrateful  On January 7, 2014 at 4:35 pm

    This was one of the better post game interviews I have seen. He had a certain dignity in how he spoke. Clearly he had some poor verb conjugations and improperly used some slang (ish) pronouns, but he spoke with poise and answered the questions directly.
    I don’t see racism, I see an angry mom.

  • elogam  On January 7, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    OK, I listened to the interview and I didn’t hear anything that didn’t sound like my Florida-born aunt. She’s a high school teacher with a Master’s in education btw. Could he have taken more time to enunciate? Sure. But this was NOT a poor representation of the young man or his school, family, state, etc. I agree, the tweet was that of an angry mom, hating on someone who achieved when her son didn’t. (Oh, did I say “hating on”? Is that correct grammar? Sorry, ‘my bad’….)

  • Bill  On January 7, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    The only thing in this discussion that I consider racist is the suggestion that use of solecisms is exclusively pertinent to black people. But this is a trait shared by white racists and black victims.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

