Smithfield drops Paula Deen…when will the fallout stop?

Today Smithfield dropped Paula Deen. This comes days after America learned in a deposition that Deen has used the n-word, and that she wanted to throw a plantation themed wedding. Is Deen a racist? I don’t know, but I do know that she is racially insensitive, and I do know that national sponsors want to avoid controversy. Deen has become a hot potato and it will be interesting to see if this is the first of many sponsors jumping off the good ship Deen. Deen is a daughter of the south, or a grandaughter of the confederacy. She liberally uses the language used in those days gone by. I think Deen has a lot to learn and I don’t see this as a teachable moment. The Food Network and losing the Smithfield account are business decisions. Companies are not trying to teach they are in it for the money, and if a spokesperson is associated with controversy they will cut them lose in a heartbeat. So will Deen learn anything from this? Hopefully, she will learn that dropping the n-word can be costly.

http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/entertainment/2013/06/paula-deen-dropped-by-smithfield-foods/

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • John56  On June 25, 2013 at 1:57 am

    Read the court documents . Racism , sexism and ati – semitism. Are involved. Stop giving rednecks a pass

  • elogam  On June 29, 2013 at 7:30 pm

    News flash! A middle-aged white woman has admitted to using the N-Word in the past?!? HOLD-THE-PHONE!!! Wait a minute…. I’m also hearing that water is wet, and sugar is sweet….

    It was a deposition-she had to tell the truth. If she’d said she’d NEVER used the word, that would have caused fire and brimstone to rain down. Look, everyone of a certain age has used the word. I’ve used the word. I don’t use it any longer, because as Richard Pryor said towards the end of his life: “…There AREN’T any….”

    I’m curious: While I cannot say with certainty,I’m pretty sure Jamie Foxx used the word-not in the past- but within the past WEEK at least. Will he be losing his station on SiriusXM? I heard a multitude of rappers using it on the hip-hop station. Will THEY be losing endorsements? Somehow I doubt it, because to be black in America means you are subjected to “the soft bigotry of lower expectations.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 425 other followers

