Why did Ellen Sturtz heckle the first lady?

Statement from Ellen Sturz, the lesbian activist that heckled the first lady. “I lived and worked in the closet, hiding who I was in order to earn a living. I had planned to speak tonight with DNC officials but, as the First Lady was talking about our childrens’ future and ensuring that they have everything they need to live happy and productive lives, I simply couldn’t stay silent any longer. I’m looking ahead at a generation of young people who could live full, honest, and open lives with the stroke of the President’s pen, and I was hoping that the First Lady would share my concern for all of our young people.”
Sturtz was reportedly taken aback at the First Lady’s response to her heckling. Question: Is heckling a speaker ever justified?

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • elogam  On June 5, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    This self-centered woman was seeking the limelight. I don’t care WHAT her issue was, she was rude. This nation is about more than YOU and what YOU think is the most important thing on the planet. Write petitions, organize protests, buy airtime, give donations to get access, but don’t waste our time acting out. It does NOT help your cause.

    • Spanish Inquisitor  On June 5, 2013 at 4:32 pm

      Oddly enough (yeah, go figure) I agree with you. Personally, I could never be so presumptuous, so rude, as to heckle someone who is reading a prepared speech (I might throw a shoe at George W. Bush, but that would be my only exception). But that’s me.

      I do, however, understand that someone else might not share my compunction, and that some issue are serious enough to be rude about. Sometimes we have to defy convention to focus attention on an important issue.

      Remember Rosa Parks? It was “the law” in Montgomery in 1955 that she give up her seat, not so a white person could sit there, but so that a white person didn’t even have to sit in the same row of seats as a black. Imagine if she had not so rudely defied the request of the bus driver to comply with the law. And the issue WAS about her. She was tired, it was a long day, and she didn’t feel like being a second class citizen at that moment.

      • musesofamom  On June 5, 2013 at 6:28 pm

        SI this was a rude woman seeking attention to an issue close to her. The fact that the President has addressed more gay rights issues than any other should count for something, but this was not a Rosa Parks moment. She refused to move and she was arrested for her non violent act. This woman heckled the first lady and she had the audacity to be shocked that the First lady spotlighted her bad behavior.

      • Spanish Inquisitor  On June 5, 2013 at 6:39 pm

        As I said, I agree. But I understand the greater inclination to do it. I just wouldn’t do it myself, or condone anyone else. (primarily because I really don’t have the cojones for that type of thing).

        But don’t get me wrong. Understanding it is not the same as condoning it. This particular situation is not strictly analogous to Rosa Parks. But who knows, maybe historical hindsight will prove us wrong. It did in Rosa Park’s case.

  • I Totally DESPISE Hecklers  On June 6, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    I wasn’t there but from what I read, this person was BEYOND RUDE – AND disrespectful – to the First Lady & to the other people in the audience. Who does she think she is to continuously INTERRUPT someone who is speaking, let alone The First LADY!!! THIS is NOT the way to get your point across & it definitely is not productive. All this stupid a***(z) did was annoy others in the crowd, INCLUDING the First LadyShe should’ve been dragged out by her HAIR, arrested & slapped with a VERY HUGEEEE FINE.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 375 other followers

