“Do you want to buy some food stamps?”

I went to the store this afternoon and as I approached the door a man asked me if I wanted to buy some food stamps. My answer was no and as I walked with my daughter I said “isn’t it ironic that this man is trying to sell something to me that the government gave to him.” (the government is Us) It’s not just ironic it made me mad. Don’t get me wrong there are people that need government assistance to exist and that’s not the issue. The issue is that this guy obviously was trying to pick up quick cash and that is simply not right. Since traditional stamps don’t exist anymore I wonder was he going to go with me as I shopped and then use his Independence Card? If I had gone along with the scheme there would be two people breaking the law and I was not going to be one of the two.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • hoping4astory  On February 8, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    I didn’t know it was against the law to sell food stamps, but it sure makes sense.

  • chibuzu  On February 9, 2013 at 5:04 am

    I had that happen to me 3 times. I was so angry because my sister and I like going grocery shopping together and she never gets asked but I always get asked.

  • Bill  On February 9, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    You both have witnessed abuse of the social safety net that liberal Democrats tell us does not exist. It’s a very effective tool for winning elections.

  • elogam  On February 14, 2013 at 12:37 am

    With private charity, abuse is almost nonexistent. If someone comes to a charitable organization and asks for help, the private organization can quickly hone in on the people who really need the help and people out to game them. We need to re institute a few things: Work in exchange for assistance, a sense of shame for gaming the system, welfare fraud checks to verify that people on the dole are not abusing the system, and replacing welfare with a process to lift people from poverty to self-sufficency within a short period of time. As President Clinton said, “We need to offer a hand out, not a handout.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

