Mitt Romney’s Mom talks about how “welfare” helped his dad


Jon Stewart ran this clip on his show, and talked about how Mitt Romney’s dad was once a welfare recipient. Stewart went on to say that Mitt Romney might not have been able to get his dad’s vote according to his own calculations. I see something different in this clip. I see his mother providing an honest answer to the question, and I like the fact that she does talk about how his dad started off poor, but did not let his circumstances define or confine him. He was able to rise above them and become an American success story. That is the promise of this country that we have the right to “pursue happiness” or success.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • JanCorey  On September 19, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    If I was president, I would totally eliminate welfare in all forms. Make it the families financial responsibility since they brought those users into the world. Not my problem!

    • Spanish Inquisitor  On September 19, 2012 at 5:18 pm

      Glad you’re not running, Jan. Good reason to not vote for you. You are heartless. You have no empathy for your fellow man. And you clearly are not a True Christian.™

      • JanCorey  On September 19, 2012 at 7:59 pm

        Your welcome. Plus, I would eliminate all funding to vets asnd wounded warriors too and eliminate the military funding anything other than current active soldiers. Cut all those wasteful programs, if they are not current soldiers, have them apply for welfare to use until it is also eliminated, then re-join the workforce to get any income they may need. I am tired of babysitting adults who have any capacity to earn money legitimately through the course of a job.

    • Angie  On September 20, 2012 at 12:58 am

      My prayers for you that you never get down on you luck. God bless you.

      • JanCorey  On September 20, 2012 at 3:24 am

        Thanks Angie, you too. I tell ya, saw more fraud just today. Makes me sick. I tell ya, I would totally eliminate all welfare programs immediately if I could except for expecting mothers and young children, all else would go if I was president.Even for vets, I would treat them but totally eliminate any monies they get after discharge. Just a waste imo.

      • Spanish Inquisitor  On September 20, 2012 at 1:24 pm

        With all due respect Jan, I’m beginning to feel the same lack of empathy you are.

        I’m beginning to resent the air you’re breathing. Air that could be better used by someone with a little more humanity in them.

  • rdrevilo  On September 19, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    remember his dad, George, was born in Mexico, where the Mormon Church was stealing or prosetylizing, then dad went on to become head of AMC (American Motors Corp) as well as Governor of Michigan…so when were they poor…peace

    • Bill  On September 20, 2012 at 4:36 pm

      I’m a bit confused by the sequence of events as you presented them. George was born in Mexico where the Mormon Church was stealing and proselytizing you say. Was George involved in the stealing? Was he prosecuted for stealing? How did any of that relate to George?

      So it was after that when he went on to become head of AMC and governor of the state of Michigan? So it is difficult for you to understand when he found time to be poor? How about watching the Youtube video and listening very carefully. Scary!

      • rdrevilo  On September 20, 2012 at 5:53 pm

        you know better…since when has this legal system been after the big crooks & you’re not confused…you think you are a part of something that benefits you…maybe for now…that’s what we want, you scared…R.D.Revilo

  • Bill  On September 20, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    rdrevilo:

  • JanCorey  On September 21, 2012 at 12:24 am

    We can’t afford welfare programs for anyone other than pregnant mothers (for six months max) and for children. All other programs would be eliminated if I was president.

  • elogam  On September 23, 2012 at 1:57 am

    Hm, I see that about half the posts are in the realm of “trolling”, so I won’t take the bait. I will however say that Welfare has a place in society, but it cannot be a way of life. I prefer to address the broader scope of “social programs”, of which Welfare is only a small part, that the taxpayer is funding. The current system is unsustainable, and without MAJOR renovation it will destroy this nation.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

