First Grader suspended for singing “I’m Sexy and I Know it”

“A Colorado first-grader has been suspended for sexual harassment for singing the LMFAO song, “I’m Sexy and I Know It” to a girl in the cafeteria lunch line. Grade-schooler D’Avonte Meadows was suspended for three days from Sable Elementary after serenading a girl from his class with a line from the popular song. His mom says it wasn’t the first time D’Avonte found his musical courtship unrequited. Last month, the boy was called to the principal’s office for singing the same song to the same girl and this time he was reportedly “shaking his booty near her face” too. At least no one can say he lacks persistence.”* This first grader is being accused of sexually harrassing his classmate. Is this harrassment or is this simply a fresh mouthed little boy? Is this an overreaction? Are we attaching an adult like description to childlike behavior? Share your thoughts.

http://now.msn.com/now/0504-first-grader-suspended-lmfao.aspx

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • elogam  On May 6, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    This is a case where someone needs to explain to the youngster that shaking his behind in a woman’s face is not acceptable behavior in elementary school. Unless she drops her lunch money into his g-string. Just kidding.

    No, this could have been handled by explaining to the young man that his actions are inappropriate. The suspension was done so some administrator can say “we handled this very seriously and immediately!” Political correctness is destroying our schools and our youth.

  • PJ2012  On May 6, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    I really hate he got suspended for acting like a kid. I see and hear kids say things like this and more. I think this is were parenting has played a large part in what is has access to. I don’t let my son watch tv on major networks. He watches maybe 30 minutes of public televison and he listens to radio stations that I select. I am very aware that children pick up alot of what they see and hear on tv, radio and people. I just try to keep it under control.

  • Docile Jim Brady – Columbus OH 43209  On May 6, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    HEADNOTE :At least no one can say he lacks persistence.” ►*◄
    The asterisk at above far right (my ►◄ emphasis) is the only asterisk in the article .
    Was there more ?

    J. H-R. @ ≈07:46 EDT Sunday 06 May 6 2012: “Share your thoughts.

    DJB: ☺ Once again , thank you for the invite .

    MSNBC: “At least no one can say he lacks persistence.

    DJB: Inexcusable reporting by trying to joke about a serious issue .

    MSNBC’s shallow reporting of the facts of the incidents , makes in nearly impossible to offer a reasonable response .

    Q_1: “This first grader is being accused of sexually harrassing his classmate. Is this harrassment or is this simply a fresh mouthed little boy ?

    DJB: In my opinion , his conduct , though wrong , is not “sexual” harassment .

    What if he sang “There is nothing like a dame !” from South Pacific ; was told not to sing that song to the girl , then for the first time , sang a gender modified Ado Annie’s “I Cain’t Say No!” from Oklahoma ! ?

    MSNBC has left the reader clueless as to what was the guidance after the first song .

    Who complained first ?
    Did girl complain to teacher or her parent(s) ?
    After admin became aware of the singing , were the boy’s parents and the boy present during a discussion of what was and was not appropriate social behavior ?

    Q_2: “Is this an overreaction ?
    DJB: Probably .

    Q_2: Are we attaching an adult like description to childlike behavior ?
    DJB: Again , probably .

  • lori  On May 6, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    LEAVE OUR KIDS ALONE!

    • Docile Jim Brady – Columbus OH 43209  On May 6, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      The boy , the girl or all of them ?

      What if he had sung , Sigmund Romberg’s “ Deep in My Heart ” from Student Prince ?

  • Spanish Inquisitor  On May 7, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    We live in a crazy, imperfect, volatile, perplexing, mixed up yet thoroughly entrancing, entertaining, and unpredictable world. I wouldn’t change any of it. ;)

  • Docile Jim Brady – Columbus OH 43209  On May 7, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    I was unaware of the song ,but found its lyrics .

    If a first grader can memorize these lyrics , why not channel his memory talent into something more appropriate ?

    “Sexy And I Know It”

    Yeah, yeah
    When I walk on by, girls be looking like damn he fly
    I pimp to the beat, walking on the street in my new lafreak, yeah
    This is how I roll, animal print, pants outta control,
    It’s Redfoo with the big afro
    And like Bruce Lee yeah I got the glow
    [a reference to the 80's martial arts classic "The Last Dragon", where martial artists, having attained master status, start to glow when practicing their moves, and also get some special powers.]

    Ah… Girl look at that body [x3]
    Ah… I work out
    Ah… Girl look at that body [x3]
    Ah… I work out

    When I walk in the spot (yeah), this is what I see (ok)
    Everybody stops and they staring at me
    I got a passion in my pants and I ain’t afraid to show it, show it, show it, show it

    I’m sexy and I know it [x2]

    Yeah
    When I’m at the mall, security just can’t fight them off
    And when I’m at the beach, I’m in a Speedo trying to tan my cheeks (what)
    This is how I roll, come on ladies it’s time to go
    We headed to the bar, baby don’t be nervous
    No shoes, no shirt, and I still get serviced (watch)

    Ah… Girl look at that body [x3]
    Ah… I work out
    Ah… Girl look at that body [x3]
    I work out

    When I walk in the spot (yeah), this is what I see (ok)
    Everybody stops and they staring at me
    I got passion in my pants and I ain’t afraid to show it, show it, show it, show it

    I’m sexy and I know it [x2]

    I’m sexy and I know it…

    Check it out [x2]
    Wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, wiggle yeah [x3]
    Wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, wiggle yeah, yeah
    Do the wiggle man
    I do the wiggle man
    Yeah
    I’m sexy and I know it

    Ah… Girl look at that body [x3]
    Ah… I work out
    Ah… Girl look at that body [x3]
    Ah… I work out

    Yeah I’m sexy and I know it!

    Thanks to hume, Stephen, Nick, Tess, Hans for correcting these lyrics.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

