Should Public Schools observe Rosh Hashanah?

The following statement was taken from the Café Mom website: “This is the note that is attached to my son’s homework schedule for the week. Starting Wednesday and lasting through the end of the week, he will not be assigned homework due to Rosh Hashanah. Now, this might be OK if we went to a private or religious school. But we’re in a public school. And yes, I understand the significant of Rosh Hashanah for those who celebrate the Jewish faith. But I do not think this is appropriate. I highly doubt we’re going to get “no homework due to Good Friday” papers in their weekly packets. Anyone else have this sort of thing happen in their school? Thoughts about this? Should the school be catering to one religion like this?” My kids are home today in observance of the holiday. So tell me what you think.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Docile Jim Brady  On September 29, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Should the school be catering to one religion like this?”
    NO.

    My kids are home today in observance of the holiday.
    IF Jewish, o.k.

    What about the Buddhist, Hindu, Islam, et al. holidays ?

  • musesofamom  On September 29, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    No my kids are not Jewish but I really don’t have a problem with it.

  • lala  On September 29, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    I disagree with this.

  • Andrew Pang  On September 29, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Public schools should NOT observe ANY religious holiday. Except Christmas, because that coincides with a typical winter recess.

  • elogam  On September 29, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I see a difference between “catering to” and “accommodating”. If ALL kids get a homework holiday so that the Jewish kids aren’t singled out I’m fine with it. If the kids are required to participate in religious aspects of the holiday, I have a problem with it on principle.

    Accommodating large (and not so large) groups in a public school is nothing new. “Spring Break” was originally “Easter Break”. I STILL refer to “winter break” as “Christmas Break” and do so blatantly in front of PC crowds. Here in California it is common for Thanksgiving Break to be the entire week, so families can either go to Mexico to be with extended family or to allow them to spend time with families that have come up for the event. Failing that, there are “homework packets” the teachers make up for the students who are traveling so they don’t fall behind. School is not a profit-generating endeavor so there should be some reasonable flexibility.

  • Not happy  On September 29, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    Public schools SHOULD NOT observe Rosh Hashanah. I am very upset about it. The kids are supposed to stay at school and study. Maybe next time the school should close for the holy month.

    I am not against Jewish. But they really shouldn’t push it.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

